A personal mantra: “What keeps you going?”

“Happy Monday”,” Good Monday”, “thank God it’s Monday” are phrases seldom heard on Monday mornings. “I hate Mondays”, “the weekend went by before I knew it”, and “four more days until Friday” are more likely to be heard in most circles today. This fact raised a question in my mind…”what can I do to make every day a better day”? Maybe a personal mantra could help.

A mantra (maan·trah) is “1) a sound, word, or phrase that is repeated by someone who is
praying or meditating or 2) a word or phrase that is repeated often or that expresses someone’s basic beliefs” (Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary, 2011).

I use the latter definition, although many may use both. I have a couple of daily mantras, but my favorite was given to me in conversation by my brother, ‘there is no shortcut to
perfection
”. This simple phrase has allowed me to have patience with myself when I feel like nothing is going according to plan. It also allows me to objectively quantify situations and why they are the way they are, which is similar to another popular mantra, “it is what it is”.

Each of us should have a personal saying that helps us get through every day with a more positive attitude; even Manic Mondays can be tolerable.

So find a phrase, repeat often, and make each day a better day.

Ding! Ding!

About boystomenblogazine

I am a fashion enthusiast that has engaged in the blog as a vehicle to grow from boys b-boy fashion to the distinguished men's fashion of yesteryear and today. As Arthur Ashe states, “Clothes and manners do not make the man; but when he is made, they greatly improve his appearance". Ding! Ding!
This entry was posted in life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A personal mantra: “What keeps you going?”

  1. Tra-may says:

    What a relevant topic to the daily challenge each of us has…..coaxing ourselves to face a day we sometimes don’t get to design. Be it to punch that perverbial clock or to fulfill inevitable obligations and responsibilities. We must all claim some kind of joy in an effort to get through or get by with our true selves still in tact…..and still willing to move towards the great things on our horizon.

Leave a Reply

